2015 Mantra – Put It Down

20141118_204437

Honestly speaking, I don’t even remember my resolution of the previous year. Resolutions (for me) last momentarily – think, plan, say it out to your friends, and it’s gone before you know it.

I always thought New Year was a day when everyone gets drunk and shouts Happy New Year to each other. I even questioned – Why is it happy for you – to my friends when I received the common phrase. Understandably, I received stares but it did forced them to think and eventually spill out their happy moments of year that went by.

Everything or action should have a meaning.

This year, I took this day to stop and reflect on what happened last year and what I’m planning to do the next year. My mantra for 2015 is going to be simple. I’m going to focus on one thing only:

Put it down.

Simple, right? But, put what down you may ask!

Put everything that is distracting me, down.


 

Put the phone down.

As a foreigner in a different land, all my close friends and family are thousands of miles apart from me. The only way to be connected and in constant touch with them is via my phone (yes, laptop too!). I tend to check every beep or vibration of my phone thinking that they might be something important – an email or a message. Distraction is way too easy with my phone and this has affected my productivity and mentality. This has kind of become an addiction, where I’m a slave to my phone instead of the opposite.

This year, I’m going to put down my phone, very often.

I will try to find a balance between staying connected with close ones and be distraction-free at the same time.

Don’t be surprised if you don’t receive an instant reply, like you used to. But you will hear back from me, eventually.


 

Put down the excitement

2014 had a lot in store for me.

The first half of the year was all about studies and work. And the second half of year was more about finding and growing into myself, the person that I want to become.

2015 is going to be a year where I will focus on sustainability. A lot of things excites me and I tend to act and rush into things prematurely (learned the hard way!). I feel that this doesn’t work well in long run.

Here, I’m talking about both my work and emotions. Both needs to be kept on check so that I have the same level of excitement and enthusiasm throughout my endeavour.

In 2015, I want to focus on keeping. Achieving takes a lot of effort, but maintaining is a totally different ball game. I want to maintain the same level of enthusiasm throughout the year in everything that excites me.

In 2014, I started my journey to understand love. Love for work and love for people. And to be honest, it is way too complicated. I’m sure it will be a life long journey. But what I’ve understood so far is: love is when you do something inherently for someone’s happiness.

Best explained by this answer in Quora:

What is Love?

Love is when, I sleep with one blanket on, and wake up with two, because my mom was probably feeling cold.


 

Put down my thoughts.

I intend to write my thoughts on things that come across my head throughout 2015. There are few things that I want to share, but I need to figure out the best way to convey my ideas. 2015 is going to see more of that.

Also, I plan to write more technical articles in 2015.


I don’t believe in having a long checklist and making your life mission to achieve them. But, I do have few things that I want to do in 2015:

  • Get my license, a car and drive to another state (long time due)
  • Visit either Canada, Mexico or Europe (a man can dream, right?)
  • Hot Air Balloon (first step to conquer my fear of heights)
  • Learn to play Explosion in the Sky – Your Hand In Mine in a piano (I love this song and would love to play and create my own version)
  • Go to a beach (1.5 years in US and no beach yet, damn! – Santa Monica doesn’t count)
  • Hike in Grand Canyon National Park (Heaven)
  • Cook Dim Sum (I have my own reasons)
  • Attend Boyce Avenue & Lights and Motion Concert (Anywhere in the United States)

‘Til then

Leave a Reply

