A Year of Thankfulness – 2014

One and half years have flown by since I moved to the United States in August last year. Today is the second time I celebrated Thanksgiving Day with near and dear ones. With so many things that I dislike about America, I’ve come to realize that Thanksgiving is the second best thing about this country (the first being – attendance not mandatory in classes).

Thanksgiving has one core meaning: being thankful for all the good things that happened in the past year. It’s secular and you aren’t asked to follow any religious beliefs to celebrate this day. It is simply getting together and reflecting on things that you are thankful for.

It is a pure and rare holiday that has a simple foundation, isn’t overly commercialized (like so many other things in America), isn’t another perverted celebration (again, like so many other things in America) and doesn’t involve going to the pub/club (America!!).

It is beautiful because everyone finds time to come together, cook delicious food and share stories.

In short: It creates happiness.

I want to take a moment to write a thankful note for the past year and hope to make this my yearly tradition.


I’m thankful for having the most loving and caring family. Even though we aren’t physically together, I want to thank all those moments of closeness as one family in the past year and hope to have many in years to come.

I’m thankful to all my IIITA friends who are close to me yet so far.

I’m thankful to all the wonderful technologies that have significantly reduced the distance with loved ones.

I’m thankful to all my wonderful friends in Cincinnati who have become a significant part of my life.

I’m thankful for having more happy moments than sad moments in the past year.

I’m thankful for being able to travel to more places than I imagined.

I’m thankful for understanding that life is all about priorities. The more important the person, higher the priority.

I’m thankful for being able to able to trust my instincts and take more risks.

I’m thankful for being able to volunteer my time and knowledge in causes I believe in.

I’m thankful for being able to write this note in my room, in peace, and know that I have important people in my life everywhere.


‘Til then

One thought on “A Year of Thankfulness – 2014

Leave a Reply

