Date Extractor using lex and yacc

I have been fiddling with lex and yacc since my last semester course – Compiler Design. I even posted an assignment  here where we built a SQL Syntax Checker.

This semester, I opted for Information Retrieval as one of my Elective. Its an awesome subject so far even though I’m unaware of half the things taught in class! :\

Anyway, our first assignment was to build a program that would extract different formats of date from a file. I used lex and yacc to build the program. The program extracts date in various formats including dates with delimiters and words. You can check the complete code here in github. Its a small but certainly a powerful program. If you want any help in the code, you can always ping me. 🙂

’til then

Leave a Reply

